Translate

Wednesday, October 18, 2017

Tuesday, October 17, 2017

Monday, October 16, 2017

Sunday, October 15, 2017

Saturday, October 14, 2017

Friday, October 13, 2017

Thursday, October 12, 2017

Wednesday, October 11, 2017

Tuesday, October 10, 2017

Monday, October 9, 2017

Sunday, October 8, 2017

Turbin House


This is the ruins of the Queen Bee Mill that initiated the town of Sioux Falls, SD. There is a story here. A number of locals wanted to build a mill using the water that flowed over the falls, but the Minneapolis bankers were not willing to invest money for building the mill unless they could see that there was enough water to power a mill through the dry summer months when rain became intermittent. The bankers traveled to see the falls in the later summer. They were expected, so the locals built a temporary dam upstream from the falls and arranged to have the dam removed just before the bankers went to measure the water flow. Was this fraud? Most certainly it was, but they got the money to build this mill because the flow of water over the falls was substantial. Unfortunately the Queen Bee Mill only operated for about a year as there was insufficient grain grown locally to keep it in full operation. While the mill closed, the town of Sioux Falls became well established.

Saturday, October 7, 2017

Friday, October 6, 2017

Thursday, October 5, 2017

Wednesday, October 4, 2017

Sunday, October 1, 2017

Saturday, September 30, 2017

Friday, September 29, 2017